Finalists Announced for World Hydrogen 2024 Awards



The Sustainable Energy Council (SEC) are pleased to announce the finalists for the World Hydrogen 2024 Awards, sponsored by BOSS Energy Consulting!


The winners will be announced on 12th May 2024 at a ceremony at the Rotterdam Ahoy, as part of the World Hydrogen 2024 Summit & Exhibition, organised by the Sustainable Energy Council in partnership with the Government of Netherlands, Province of Zuid Holland, the City of Rotterdam and the Port of Rotterdam.


The 6 awards categories celebrate the exceptional achievements from companies and individuals who are driving the hydrogen industry forward. Through innovation, partnerships and commercial advances, these finalists are enabling the scalability needed to make hydrogen commercially viable and readily available to decarbonise even the most polluting sectors of our global economy.


The awards judging panel was made up of the SEC World Hydrogen Advisory Board, who carefully reviewed and voted on each of the nominees based on this year’s awards criteria.


Huge congratulations to the 2024 World Hydrogen Awards Finalists:

Clean Hydrogen Project Award

  • Johnson Matthey Ammonia Cracking Technology (UK)
  • Air Products plans for renewable energy facilities in Europe (Rotterdam (NL), Hamburg (DE), Immingham (UK)
  • Hydrogen Holland I (Shell, Netherlands)
  • Stargate Hydrogen Solutions (IPCEI, Estonia)
  • The Gladstone PEM50 (Fortescue, Australia)


Hydrogen Industrial Application Award

  • LCH Technology by Johnson Matthey (UK)
  • H2 Green Steel (Sweden)
  • Scalum by thyssenkrupp nucera (Germany)
  • Gigawatt Electrolyser Factory by Air Liquide & Siemens Energy (Berlin, Germany)
  • HERO by Star Scientific Limited (Australia)


Future Hydrogen Leader Award

  • Mikaa Blugeon-Mered, Analyst, Author, Lecturer on Hydrogen Geopolitics | Expert-Coordinator H2 Task Force | IAHE Green Hydrogen Ambassador
  • Johan Dreyer, President, H2 Antofagasta | CEO at Hymatch | Angel investor in H2 Start ups
  • Filipe de Vasconcelos Fernandes (PhD), Founder, H2Tax | Executive Director of Renewable Hydrogen Course, AP2H2
  • Achmed Junusov, COO, H2UB


Port of the Future Award

  • Port of Corpus Christi
  • Duisport


Hydrogen Transport Award

  • Fuel Cell Hilux Prototype Project by Toyota Motor Manufacturing (UK)
  • Hydrogen for Mobility Refueling Stations by Air Products (Zeebrugge, Ghent in Belgium & Wetter, Germany)
  • Honeywell LOHC Solution
  • The Green Pioneer by Fortescue (Australia)


Hydrogen Person of the Year Award

  • Caroline Stancell, Executive Director of Hydrogen, Europe & Africa
  • Robert Habeck, Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Germany
  • Sunita Satyapal, Director Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Eng. Nawal Alhanaee, Director of Future Energy Department, Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure UAE
  • Marko Virkebau, CEO, Stargate Hydrogen Solutions


Source: World Hydrogen 2024 Summit&Exhibition

Hot News

FuelCellChina Interviews